The 18th Australian Agronomy Conference will be held at the Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre, Victoria from 24-28 September 2017.  The Australian Agronomy Conference is the meeting place for Agronomists; it supports research and the community of Agronomists by connecting Agronomy communities across Australia to each other.

The theme for the 2017 conference is “Doing more with less”.  A central plank of Australia’s productive output is agriculture, worth over AUD$13.6 billion exported annually.  Agronomy is key to ensuring that farmland is productive across Australia’s diverse landscapes.  Innovation in machinery and precision technologies, plant species and varieties, soil and plant management may allow the agronomist of today to successfully help agricultural producers thrive.  These innovations are timely as the world deals with increasingly variable climates, environmental degradation, and a more developed global community that requires more diverse products from agriculture.

Please mark the dates in your diary and we look forward to seeing you in Ballarat in September 2017.

Dr Chris Korte
President and Conference Convenor
Agronomy Australia

Invited Speakers

  • Dr Cynthia Grant
  • Professor Ken Giller
  • David Chapman
  • Dr Cynthia Rosenzweig
  • Mick Keogh
  • Caroline Welsh
  • Professor Timothy Reeves
  • Dr John Kirkegaard
  • Bill Long
  • Tom Acocks

Click here for speaker biographies.

AW Howard Memorial Trust

  • Dr Mike Ewing is to be awarded the 2017 Medal of the AW Howard Memorial Trust for his personal research and national leadership in the development and integration of pasture legumes in farming systems.

Click here for further information


Call for Papers

23 July 2017

Early Bird Registration Closes

24 - 28 September 2017

18th Australian Agronomy Conference


Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre

Mercure Ballarat
613 Main Road
Victoria 3350


Conference Partner
Agronomy - Agriculture Victoria
Gold Sponsor
Agronomy 2017 - IPNI Logo 300x300
Silver Sponsor
Logo - AW Howard Trust
Bronze Sponsor
Welcome Reception Sponsor

Field Trip Sponsors

Logo - Landmark (white) 300x200
Elders Logo 300x200

Bursary Sponsors

Agronomy 2017 Logo - Phosyn Analytical

The Organising Committee

  • President – Dr Chris Korte, Agriculture Victoria
  • Secretary – Dr Rob Norton, International Plant Nutrition Institute
  • Treasurer – Dr Angela Clough, Agriculture Victoria
  • Executive Officer – Ms Linda Bennison, Agronomy Australia
  • Mr Paul Bruest, Southern Farming Systems
  • Ms Claire Brown, Birchip Cropping Group
  • Mr Adam Hancock, Elders rural
  • Ms Therese Guinane, Southern Farming Systems
  • Dr Sara Hely, Agriculture Victoria
  • Dr James Hunt, Latrobe University
  • Associate Professor Peter Lane, University of Tasmania
  • Dr Garry O’leary, Agriculture Victoria
  • Dr Mary-Jane Rogers, Agriculture Victoria
  • Mr Stuart Simmons, Ballarat Regional Tourism
  • Ms Deb Slinger – NSW DPI
  • Mr Charlie Walker – Incitec Pivot

Awards & Bursaries

The Australian Society of Agronomy Inc. has several awards and bursaries associated with the conference. The most prestigious of these is the C.M. Donald Medal for Agronomy awarded to an eminent agriculturalist at each national conference of the Society.

In 2006 the Society introduced a Young Agronomist of the Year award to increase awareness and opportunities for younger members of the profession.

In 2012 the Society introduced Fellowships where winners of these fellowships will be designated as Fellows of the Australian Society of Agronomy. Fellowships shall be awarded for important contributions to agronomy.

The Australian Society of Agronomy Inc.

The Australian Society of Agronomy Inc. is the professional body for agronomists in Australia. It has approximately 500 active members drawn from government, universities, research organisations and the private sector.



The Australian Society of Agronomy is the professional body for agronomists in Australia. It has approximately 500 active members drawn from government, universities, research organisations and the private sector.

Photo Credits

David Marland Photography david_marland@hotmail.com Southern Farming Systems Agriculture Victoria

Conference Managers

Please contact the team at Conference Design with any questions regarding the conference.
© 2015 - 2017 Conference Design Pty Ltd